The Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation’s top shortstop and will be presented on June 30 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions.

The Big 12 has five players on the list and the ACC features four. Several other conferences also have multiple players on the watch list.

“It really says something about the high quality of play in many of these conferences that they have so many players on the watch list,” said Wallace Award co-chair Tyler Young. “As conference play winds down, it will be interesting to see how these players finish the season and to see which conferences will still have multiple players on the list.”

Texas Tech SS Tim Proudfoot is one of the few freshman that made the watch list. He is one of just four freshmen to be named to the list, joining Rice’s Ford Stainback, San Diego’s Andrew Daniel and BYU’s Tanner Chauncey.

Proudfoot has been one of the premier defensive shortstops in the country during his initial collegiate season fielding .953 with 150 assists, 70 putouts and has committed 11 errors. In fact, out of Proudfoot’s 11 errors, just two have been fielding with nine throwing errors.



Chris Diaz NC State ACC
Chris Taylor Virginia ACC
Johnny Morales Virginia Tech ACC
Pat Blair Wake Forest ACC
Thomas Lindauer Illinois Big 10
Chad Christensen Nebraska Big 10
David Miller Purdue Big 10
Jake Miller Baylor Big 12
Jake Brown Kansas State Big 12
Hunter Bailey Oklahoma State Big 12
Jordan Etier Texas Big 12
Mikey Reynolds Texas A&M Big 12
Tim Proudfoot Texas Tech Big 12
Mike Miller Cal Poly Big West
D.J. Crumlich UC Irvine Big West
Dalton Rouleau Hofstra Colonial
Jack Reinheimer East Carolina CUSA
Ford Stainback Rice CUSA
Ashley Graeter Southern Miss CUSA
Darnell Sweeney Central Florida CUSA
Joe Sclafani Dartmouth Ivy
Alex Jones Northern Illinois Mid-American
Eric Stamets Evansville MVC
Dayne Parker Wichita State MVC
Reed Harper Austin Peay OVC
Richie Rodriguez Eastern Kentucky OVC
Kenton Parmley SE Missouri State OVC
Alex Mejia Arizona Pac-12
Deven Marrero Arizona State Pac-12
J.J. Altobelli Oregon Pac-12
Tyler Smith Oregon State Pac-12
Kenny Diekroeger Stanford Pac-12
Pat Valaika UCLA Pac-12
James Brooks Utah Pac-12
Alex Maldonado Holy Cross Patriot
Jared Reaves Alabama SEC
Tim Carver Arkansas SEC
Nolan Fontana Florida SEC
Matt Reida Kentucky SEC
Austin Nola LSU SEC
Zach Osborne Tennessee SEC
Anthony Gomez Vanderbilt SEC
Will Callaway Appalachian State Southern
Cam Schiller Oral Roberts Summit
Bo Cuthbertson Southern Utah Summit
Pi’ikea Kitamura Hawaii WAC
Zach Voight New Mexico State WAC
Tyler Chauncey BYU WCC
Zach Vincej Pepperdine WCC
Andrew Daniel San Diego WCC