Contact Us

Don’t Forget, Texting and Driving Is Illegal in Texas Come September


The Texas legislature passed a new law that goes into effect on September 1st and more than likely it will affect you.

On Friday, September 1, 2017, it is illegal in the state of Texas to text and drive.

Distracted driving has become a big issue in Texas, so much so that all drivers 16-24 and new drivers in Texas are required to take a state mandated distracted driving course before they can receive their license.

Texas DPS 2016 distracted driving stats (TXDPS):

  • More than 100,000 crashes
  • 3,000 endured serious injuries
  • 455 people died

The fines can also be ugly:

  • 1st offense: A fine between $25 and $99
  • 2nd offense with conviction: A fine raised by $100-$200

While texting and driving become illegal (that includes reading, writing or sending), GPS and music apps are still OK to use.



Lubbock Police Seek Woman Beater





19 Exotic Animals Banned As Pets In Texas




Best of 1340 The Fan

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for SportsRadio 1340 The Fan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from SportsRadio 1340 The Fan.