Detroit Tigers pitching ace Justin Verlander was a unanimous decision to win the American League Cy Young Award Tuesday afternoon.

Verlander drew all 28 first-place votes in balloting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America and finished with 196 points.

The Angels Jered Weaver finished second in the Cy Young voting, with Tampa Bay’s James Shields finishing third.

Verlander won the pitching Triple Crown in the AL by going 24-5 with a 2.40 ERA and 250 strikeouts. The 28-year-old righty also pitched a no-hitter, won 12 straight starts and helped the Tigers win their first division title since 1987.

The only question that remains with Verlander now, is whether or not he will win the AL MVP award that will be presented next Monday.

No starting pitcher has won the MVP since Roger Clemens did it in 1986, with Dennis Eckersley being the last reliever to get it in 1992. The MVP field includes New Yorks Curtis Granderson, Boston’s Jacoby Ellsbury, Toronto’s Jose Bautista and the Tigers Miguel Cabrera.

It was the ninth time there was a unanimous winner of the AL Cy Young and first since Johan Santana did it in 2006, when he won the AL pitching Triple Crown.

This was the fourth time a Detroit pitcher has won it, with Denny McLain earing the award in 1968 and tying for the honor in 1969, with reliever Willie Hernandez winning it in 1984.

McLain, in 1968, and Hernandez went on to win the AL MVP awards too.

A four-time All-Star, Verlander became the first former AL Rookie of the Year to also take the Cy Young.

Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers is the favorite to win the NL Cy Young when the results are released Thursday. He won the NL pitching Triple Crown, leading with a 2.28 ERA and 248 strikeouts and tying for wins at 21.

The AL and NL Managers of the Year will be announced Wednesday.