Texas Tech Lady Raider fourth-year head coach Todd Petty became just the third coach in Big 12 history to win the women’s tennis Coach of the Year Award in back-to-back season, when the conference announced the honor Tuesday.

Petty joins former Texas A&M coach Bobby Kleinecke and Baylor’s Joey Scrivano as the only coaches in league history to win the award in consecutive years.

Prior to this season, no Texas Tech team had ever finished better than fourth in the conference, and he helped guide the Lady Raiders to the programs first-ever Big 12 championship.

Other honorees were the doubles tandem of Keena Kilgo and Samantha Adams. The duo is currently 25-7 on the season and ranked No. 19 nationally.

Texas Tech begins play at the 2012 NCAA Championships in Coral Gables, Fla., on Friday at 9 a.m., when they face No. 37 Utah.

For the full press release from Texas Tech click here.