By Robert Snyder

Major League Baseball today began their annual mid-November parade of awards with the announcement of the American League Gold Glove winners.


The winners of the first round of major hardware for the 2010 season, the Rawlings American League Gold Glove Awards, were revealed on Tuesday, highlighted by the 10th consecutive fielding award for Mariners right fielder Ichiro Suzuki.

The winners included three first-time winners: Rays left fielder Carl Crawford, Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano and Mariners center fielder Franklin Gutierrez.

Rounding out the defensive stars were five repeat winners in Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter (fifth Gold Glove) and first baseman Mark Teixeira (fourth); Twins catcher Joe Mauer (third); Rays third baseman Evan Longoria (second); and White Sox pitcher Mark Buehrle (second).

The American League winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, with the number of Gold Gloves each has won in his career.
C Joe Mauer, Twins 3
1B Mark Teixeira, Yankees 2
2B Robinson Cano, Yankees 1
3B Evan Longoria, Rays 2
SS Derek Jeter, Yankees 5
OF Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners 10
OF Carl Crawford, Rays 1
OF Franklin Gutierrez, Mariners 1
P Mark Buehrle, White Sox 2

I have to say, I'm disappointed Jeter won another Gold Glove.  His range and overall defense is now atrocious and you could tell during the playoffs that he couldn't move and throw well.

With his 10th Gold Glove Ichiro has cemented himself as a Hall of Famer.  He has over 2,000 hits in MLB and has performed exceptionally in his time with the Mariners.

The National League Gold Gloves will be awarded tomorrow.