Contact Us

Marcos Ambrose Wins Rain-Delayed Sprint Cup Race at Watkins Glen International

Jason Smith, Getty Images for NASCAR
Jason Smith, Getty Images for NASCAR

Marcos Ambrose was able to beat Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch Monday at the rain-delayed Sprint Cup race at Watkins Glen to claim the checkered flag. Ambrose won three of the four Nationwide Series races he had entered at Watkins Glen, and in three previous Cup starts at the track, he’s notched one second place finish and two thirds, including an impressive move from last to third in 2008.

It was his first win in 105 starts in NASCAR’s top series and atoned for a slip-up a year ago on the road course at Sonoma, when he stalled his car under caution while leading with six laps to go and ended up finishing sixth.

It was Ford’s first victory at Watkins Glen since Geoff Bodine won here in 1996 and the 15th different winner in Cup races this year.

For a complete wrap up of the story click here.

Best of 1340 The Fan

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for SportsRadio 1340 The Fan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from SportsRadio 1340 The Fan.