The Big 12 Conference announced some baseball post season accolades today as sophomore outfielder Barrett Barnes and freshman utility player David Paiz were named All-Big 12 First Team; while juniors Kelby Tomlinson (infielder) and John Neely (relief pitcher) received All-Big 12 Second Team honors.

Over-all Texas Tech had eight players that received recognition as sophomore catcher Bo Altobelli, sophomore infielder Jamodrick McGruder and junior infielder Reid Redman were honorable mention All-Big 12, and right-handed pitcher Trey Masek joined Paiz on the All-Big 12 Freshman Team.

The leagues top conference honors went to Texas A&M’s Tyler Naquin as he was named the Player of the Year, the Longhorns Taylor Jungman claimed pitcher of the Year honors, Oklahoma State’s Zach Johnson was named Newcomer of the Year, while the Longhorns Augie Garrido and the Aggies Rob Childress were selected as Co-Coaches of the Year.

The Red Raider baseball team will being play tomorrow in their third consecutive trip to the Big 12 Championships, with a four o’clock contest against Texas A&M. Texas Tech enters the tournament as the 7th seed after going 33 and 23 overall on the season and 12 and 15 in conference play.