Contact Us

Texas Tech’s Jakeem Grant Named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List

The Texas Tech football season is inching closer and closer as each day passes, and it seems as each day goes by, another Red Raider gets named to an award watch list.  This week Jakeem Grant joined Le’Raven Clark as the next guys to be honor prior to the start of the season.  Grant was named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List on Tuesday as he continued a stretch of seven straight years that Tech has had a player named to that list.

Grant was Tech’s third-leading receiver in 2013, collecting 65 passes for 796 yards while finding the end zone seven times through the air.  The speedy slot receiver was also lethal in the return game as well, averaging just over 21 yards per return on kickoffs.  The Mesquite, Texas native earned 2013 All-Big 12 honorable mention accolades in 2013 after ranking among the Big 12’s leaders in receptions, receiving yards and all-purpose yards.

Now Grant is the fifth Texas Tech football player to be named to a preseason watch list this summer, joining Le’Raven Clark (Lombardi Award; Outland Trophy), Ryan Bustin (Lou Groza Award), Davis Webb (Maxwell Award) and Kenny Williams (Paul Hornung Award).  The 2014 Biletnikoff Award will be presented on Dec. 11 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show that will air live on ESPN.  The winner is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee which consists of 221 prominent college football journalists, commentators and former receivers.

Best of 1340 The Fan

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for SportsRadio 1340 The Fan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from SportsRadio 1340 The Fan.