There has been a change made to Texas Tech's 2016 football schedule.

The Big 12 has officially announced changes to two games on the 2016 Big 12 football schedule. The Kansas vs Texas Tech game and the TCU vs Texas games have both been altered.

Kansas at Texas Tech was originally scheduled for October 1 and has been moved to Thursday, September 29. This Thursday night game will likely be in prime time and comes after a bye week, so it won't make for a short week. It also gives even more time between the next game against Kansas State.

This is the best possible week for Texas Tech to have a Thursday night game. The Big 12 has done them a favor.

UPDATED TEXAS TECH SCHEDULE

Saturday, Sept. 3: Stephen F. Austin in Lubbock, Texas at Jones AT&T Stadium
Saturday, Sept. 10: Arizona State in Tempe, Ariz. at Sun Devil Stadium
Saturday, Sept. 17: Louisiana Tech in Lubbock, Texas at Jones AT&T Stadium
Saturday, Sept. 24: Off
Thursday, Sept. 29: Kansas in Lubbock, Texas at Jones AT&T Stadium
Saturday, Oct. 8: Kansas State in Manhattan, Kansas at Billy Snyder Family Stadium
Saturday, Oct. 15: West Virginia in Lubbock, Texas at Jones AT&T Stadium
Saturday, Oct. 22: Oklahoma in Lubbock, Texas at Jones AT&T Stadium
Saturday, Oct. 29: TCU in Fort Worth, Texas at Amon G. Carter Stadium
Saturday, Nov. 5: Texas in Lubbock, Texas at Jones AT&T Stadium
Saturday, Nov. 12: Oklahoma State in Stillwater, Okla. at Boone Pickens Stadium
Saturday, Nov. 19: Iowa State in Ames, Iowa at Jack Trice Stadium
Friday, Nov. 25: Baylor in Arlington, Texas at AT&T Stadium

The other Big 12 change is TCU at Texas, originally scheduled for November 24, has been moved to Friday, November 25. That moves Texas away from Thanksgiving for the first time since 1995. Texas has played on the most Thanksgivings since 1894.