Contact Us

Three Big 12 Quarterbacks Named Johnny Unitas Award Finalists

Justin K. Aller, Getty Images
Justin K. Aller, Getty Images

Three Big 12 quarterbacks were named finalist for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Thursday.

Heisman front-runner and Kansas State’s Collin Klein, Oklahoma’s Landry Jones and West Virginia’s Geno Smith were all selected.

The list of 10 finalists was narrowed from an original field on 29.

In order to be a candidate for the Golden Arm Award the student-athlete must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with his class. Candidates are judged upon character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and athletic accomplishments.

The Big 12’s three finalists are tied for the most from any conference.

The 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented on Friday, December 7.

The Big 12 is no stranger to winning this award. While Andrew Luck of Stanford won it last season, previous winners include Texas Tech’s Graham Harrell, Texas quarterback Colt McCoy, and Oklahoma’s Jason White.

Other finalists this year include Matt Barkley of USC and Tajh Boyd of Clemson.

Best of 1340 The Fan

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for SportsRadio 1340 The Fan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from SportsRadio 1340 The Fan.