Texas Tech head baseball coach Tim Tadlock was named the 2014 National College Baseball Hall of Fame Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year, the organization announced Friday morning.  The award is given annually to the top collegiate baseball coach from any level, including NCAA D-I, II, III, NAIA or Junior College.

Tadlock (pictured on the left) has led the Red Raiders, his alma mater, to their first ever appearance in the College World Series, along with their first ever Super Regional series victory last week over the University of Charleston.  Tech's 45 wins are its most since the 1997 season while 17 of those wins have been in come-from-behind fashion.  Texas Tech currently leads the Big 12 in batting average (.287), slugging percentage (.409), hits (612), doubles (123), triples (24) and fielding percentage (.981).

This award marks the third time in Tadlock's career that he has been named the National Coach of the Year honor after winning back-to-back National Junior College Athletic Association championships while at Grayson County College in 1999-2000.  The seventh ranked Red Raiders will open its first-ever College World Series against a familiar foe in Big 12 Conference member in number two ranked TCU.  First pitch for that game is set for Sunday at 2pm from TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Nebraska and can be seen on ESPN2.