Contact Us

Two Red Raiders Make The All-Big 12 Basketball Teams

Texas Tech v Iowa State
Getty Images – John Weast

Zach Smith and Keenan Evans had their talent and work rewarded with All-Big 12 honors over the weekend. Evans picked up third team All-Big 12 while Smith got All-Big 12 Honorable Mention Status for the second straight season.

Evans averaged 15.5 points per game on the season with 16.9 during the Big 12 schedule. Evans was also in the top 15 in the Big 12 in three point shooting percentage, free throw percentage, assists per game and assist-to-turnover ratio. He was also Texas Tech’s best player down the stretch and has blossomed into a player to be excited about in 2018.

Smith filled up the stat sheet nearly averaging a double double in points and rebounds. He ranked in the Top 7 in points per game and blocks per game. Smith was just one of two players who ranked in the Top 7 in both categories.

According to, Smith has secured a block in 25 of 30 games and his 135 career blocks are second on Texas’s Tech list only behind Tony Battie at 162 rejections.

Here is the complete list of Big 12 Awards:

2016-17 Big 12 Awards
Player of the Year: Frank Mason III, Kansas
Defensive Player of the Year: Jevon Carter, West Virginia
Freshman of the Year: Josh Jackson, Kansas
Newcomer of the Year: Manu Lecomte, Baylor
Sixth Man Award: Tarik Phillip, West Virginia
Coach of the Year: Bill Self, Kansas

All-Big 12 First Team
Johnathan Motley, Baylor
Montè Morris, Iowa State
Josh Jackson, Kansas
Frank Mason III, Kansas
Jawun Evans, Oklahoma State

All-Big 12 Second Team
Nazareth Mitrou-Long, Iowa State
Devonte’ Graham, Kansas
Jeffrey Carroll, Oklahoma State
Vladimir Brodziansky, TCU
Jevon Carter, West Virginia

All-Big 12 Third Team
Manu Lecomte, Baylor
Deonte Burton, Iowa State
Wesley Iwundu, Kansas State
Jarrett Allen, Texas
Keenan Evans, Texas Tech
Nathan Adrian, West Virginia

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention
Ishmail Wainright (Baylor), Matt Thomas (Iowa State), Landen Lucas (Kansas), D.J. Johnson (Kansas State), Kameron McGusty (Oklahoma), Phil Forte III (Oklahoma State), Jaylen Fisher (TCU), Kenrich Williams (TCU), Zach Smith (Texas Tech)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team
Jo Lual-Acuil, Baylor
Ishmail Wainright, Baylor
Vladimir Brodziansky, TCU
Nathan Adrian, West Virginia
Jevon Carter, West Virginia

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team
Manu Lecomte, Baylor
Jo Lual-Acuil, Baylor
Josh Jackson, Kansas
Kameron McGusty, Oklahoma
Alex Robinson, TCU
Jarrett Allen, Texas

Check out SportsRadio 1340 The Fan on Facebook

Best of 1340 The Fan

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for SportsRadio 1340 The Fan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from SportsRadio 1340 The Fan.